Mobile Email - Using the Blackberry Desktop Manager to Backup and Restore a Blackberry Handheld

Note: this has been written using version 4.5 of the Desktop Manager software, you can get new versions (and older ones) of the software at:


https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads


Backing up your Handheld can be useful if you want to wipe the data from the device without losing any information/settings or if you want to just have a backup available to restore to in case anything goes wrong.


I recommend running a back up if you are planning to make any changes that may affect your device functionality adversely.


Steps to Create a Backup


Load the Blackberry Desktop Manager software and then connect your blackberry to the desktop machine via the USB cable provided with the device.


  1. Enter the Backup and Restore feature from the main menu


    image

  2. Select the Backup option


    image


  3. Choose where to save the file and what to call it. The file should be saved as a .ipd file.


    image

  4. The backup will now proceed, once completed you will be informed.


image


Restoring a device from a backup


  1. Load the Blackberry Desktop Manager software and then connect your blackberry to the desktop machine via the USB cable provided with the device.

  2. Enter the Backup and Restore feature from the main menu

  3. Enter the Restore option


    image

  4. Choose the file to restore from and then press OK


    image


  5. Press Yes to the prompt if you want to proceed with the restore, otherwise press No. Warning: If you proceed with restoring from a file the device data will be overwritten with the backup content.


image

Performing a Partial Backup/Restore


You can Restore or Back up only certain parts of the Blackberry data.


If you go into the Advanced section within the Backup and Restore menu you will be presented with two sections. The left section contains data from any backup file you choose to load, and the right contains the data on the currently connected Blackberry Smartphone.


image


If you wanted to restore your contacts from a backup to the Handheld for example you would open the relevant backup file on the left, select the contacts field and then press the arrow to move the data to the right. Equally you can backup only certain fields by doing the opposite (moving the data from right to left).


If the fields are greyed out it's because the device is syncing the data wirelessly, often seen when using Blackberry Enterprise Services.


You can however disable the Wireless features on the handheld for certain folders and then proceed to restore or back the data up.


To do this just enter the folder that you want to disable the wireless sync on and then press the Application button to get into the menu ? From here go to options ? You should then be able to disable the wireless features (Toggle between Yes/No).


As with the full backups/restores any data you choose to backup or restore will overwrite any existing information either on the handheld or in the backup file.